one of my favorite writers of all time and such an amazing piece.Spread the word.

Stories inspired by tossing a YOYO

Today’s post is inspired by Maya Angelou’s poetry, One Billion Rising, and womanhood….

 

They told my grandma Nyaboke that she has to go through the knife, they told her that she has to be “cut” to tame her wildness. That women are supposed to be easy, the small demon, the clitoris is a fire that blazes too hard and needs to be put out. So, as a child, she was pinned down and a sharp knife sliced off her body part that was believed to cause insanity in women. And she believed them…but now things are changing.

I woman, I rise.

You may write me down in history
With your bitter, twisted lies,
You may trod me in the very dirt
But still, like dust, I’ll rise.

rising 2

They told my mother that she was useless, she was not worthy, she had shortchanged my father because she had given birth…

View original post 1,175 more words

Leave a Reply

